Next Steps

If you’re reading this then you or your family member has probably just taken part in a NICAS taster session, birthday party, or recently joined NICAS Clip. Welcome! We’re excited that you want to get involved with NICAS and we’re here to help you take your next steps.

NICAS is proud to offer four award schemes: NICAS Wild Climbers, NICAS Clip, NICAS Climbing (our original scheme) and NICAS Bouldering. Our schemes provide a safe, fun introduction to climbing indoors, helping learners to develop climbing movement skills and build their confidence, and create a grassroots pathway to additional climbing activities both indoors and outdoors. Climbers can record progress in their own logbook, giving learners a clear roadmap to track their climbing achievements and a sense of being part of the NICAS community. Finally, by using a NICAS accredited centre, you can be confident in the quality of coaching.

NICAS Wild Climbers

NICAS Wild Climbers paw print logo

NICAS Wild Climbers is a fun, game filled scheme available from age 3. It aims to introduce early years climbers safely into the indoor climbing environment.

  • Age: 3+
  • Type of Climbing: Age-appropriate traversing, bouldering, top-roping or auto-belay (depending on centre facilities)
  • Progression: Earn animal certificates for 6 different climbing skills

Find out more


NICAS Clip logo

NICAS Clip introduces climbing skills with the use of auto belays (the climber is clipped into a specialized device, the auto belay, that takes the place of a person holding a rope). NICAS Clip is available to climbers aged 6 and over. It aims to introduce climbers to the principles of climbing movement in a managed way and give a good introduction into climbing skills.

    • Age: 6+
    • Types of Climbing: Auto-belay
    • Progression: Complete your Foundation award then your Advanced award

    Find out more

    NICAS Climbing

    NICAS Climbing logo

    NICAS Climbing is for all climbers aged 7 to 70 and beyond. This is a nationally recognised scheme that take you from novice to experienced indoor climber, through five levels. Many thousands of climbers have learnt the ropes with NICAS Climbing.

      • Age: 7+
      • Types of Climbing: Roped climbing, bouldering from Level 2, lead climbing from Level 4, competition climbing from Level 5
      • Progression: From Level 1 (New Climber) through to Level 5 (Advanced Climber)

      Find out more

      NICAS Bouldering

      NICAS Bouldering logo

      NICAS Bouldering is our nationally recognised bouldering scheme moving through five levels from novice to experienced indoor boulderer.

        • Age: 7+
        • Types of Climbing: Bouldering only (no ropes), competition climbing from Level 4
        • Progression: From Level 1 (New Boulderer) through to Level 5 (Performance Boulderer)

        Find out more


        Taking part in a NICAS scheme can provide immense physical and mental benefits to learners, as well as giving parents and carers the confidence of enrolling their child on a national scheme.

        Find out about the benefits of NICAS

        Where can I take part?

        Ask at the climbing centre where you found out about us or find your nearest NICAS centre.